8-B-2 Exploring Additional Resources

I am really excited about implementing journals into my classroom.  Since I don’t have much experience in it, my concern is being able to pull the information out of students.  Here are some sites I found for prompts to get started.

math.about.com/library/weekly/aa123001a.htm

This is a nice Q & A about journals and how you can apply it to the classroom.

thecornerstoneforteachers.com/free-resources/math/mathjournals

http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/lesson-plan/math-journals-boost-real-learning

http://www.glencoe.com/sec/teachingtoday/subject/int_writing_math.phtml

Believe it or not – I have found some fun ideas for math journals on Pinterest.

pinterest.com/mctalia/mathjournals/

A book to share is Writing to Learn Mathematics, by Joan Countryman.  I used this in another course.  It is great resource on the different strategies that you can take in regards to journaling.

This entry was posted in Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 8-B-2 Exploring Additional Resources

  1. rwhelchel says:

    Julie,
    Thank you so much for those links! Journaling is something that I want to try next year, and like you I have difficulty coming up with prompts or ideas. These sites had some great ideas that I can’t wait to use!
    Rachael

Leave a Reply

